Weber-Morgan Board of Health Minutes of Meeting April 24, 2017

The Weber-Morgan Board of Health held its regular meeting on April 24, 2017 in the Health Department auditorium at 477 23rd Street. The meeting was called to order at 4:05 p.m. with Ken Johnson presiding.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Ken Johnson-Chair	Neil Garner	Frank Brown	Brent Taylor
James Ebert	Toby Mileski	Kerry Gibson	Jim Harvey
Tina Kelley	Roland Haslam		

BOARD MEMBERS NOT PRESENT:

Dave Holmstrom

STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:

Brian Bennion Colleen Jenson Brian Cowan Pedro Lozano Lori Greene	Kay Larrison Jesse Bush Amy Carter Ellen Seely Lacey McFarland	Louis Cooper Lori Buttars Bryce Sherwood Sunny Hayes JoAnn Wengreen	MaryLou Adams Cathy Bodily Elaine Wendt Bryan Sherman
OTHERS PRESENT: Chris Crockett Gregory Gochnour	Leann PoVey	Craig PoVey	Samantha Tilton

Welcome and Introductions – Ken Johnson

Ken Johnson calls the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m. and welcomes those in attendance and excuses Dave Holmstrom.

Approval of Board of Health Minutes of March 27, 2017 Motion Passes

A **MOTION** is made by **Neil Garner** and **SECONDED** by **Jim Harvey** to approve the minutes as written. The **MOTION** passes unanimously.

Fee Schedule Approval-Kay Larrison

Kay Larrison informs board members that the vendor who performs the TB test for immigration exam has increased their fees by \$20. The health department is asking for approval to increase the fee from \$200 to \$220 for those 15 years and older and from \$170 to \$190 for those 14 years and younger.

A **MOTION** is made by **Toby Mileski** and **SECONDED** by **Neil Garner** to approve the fee schedule. The **MOTION** passes unanimously.

Bonneville Communities That Care-Bryce Sherwood

Bryce Sherwood explains that this coalition is made up of residents of junior highs and elementary schools that feed into the Bonneville High Cone area. He introduces Craig PoVey, Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health, Leann PoVey, Communities That Care (CTC) Coordinator, and Samantha Tilton, Weber Human Services. **Craig PoVey** shows a presentation on the overview of the coalition and progress that has been

Motion Passes

Information Only

made in reducing negative behaviors since it was created. **Samantha Tilton** comments that other coalitions are being created within the Roy, Fremont, and Weber High Cone areas and they are working to join with existing coalitions in the Ogden School District. There is discussion on funding, how they reach the students, and the makeup of the coalition. **Neil Garner** asks for information on meetings. **Craig PoVey** states that the state is committed to reduce the burden of getting these coalitions going at the local level by matching funds. He states that some programs wait until there is a problem but by addressing these behaviors before they start saves money.

Friend of Public Health Award-Dr. Gregory Gochnour Lori Buttars

Information Only

Lori Buttars introduces Dr. Gregory Gochnour, Weber-Morgan Health Department's contracted medical physician, who was recently selected as Utah's Family Physician of the Year. She gives a brief outline of his work here at the health department. In recent years, he has taken extra steps to become trained and certified in areas that allow residents to be treated locally. She presents him with an award in appreciation for all he has done for our department and the community. **Gregory Gochnour** accepts the award and expresses gratitude to the nursing staff, Brian Bennion, and the administration. Jim Harvey and Kerry Gibson both express their appreciation for his efforts on and off the court and commend him on a job well done.

Air Quality Advisory Committee-Ken Johnson Information/Motion Passes Ken Johnson explains that the Air Quality Advisory Committee was created in 1999 to discuss and study issues then bring recommendations to the Board. There is discussion about the committee and how often they met within those years, its makeup, what issues they were able to solve, and how it was disbanded and brought back several times. Ken Johnson informs the board that Dave Holmstrom is the Board Representative for the committee and supports keeping the committee. There is further discussion about duplicating efforts and whether the committee is still needed. An Air Quality Workgroup has been created consisting of staff and board members that has worked out well. Board members agree at this point that issues can be discussed with the Air Quality Workgroup, who can bring in experts if needed. A MOTION is made by Toby Mileski and **SECONDED** by **Jim Harvey** to eliminate the Air Quality Advisory Committee. There is discussion that the committee can be reinstated or another subcommittee created if needed. The **MOTION** passes unanimously. Board members and staff express their appreciation for what the Air Quality Advisory Committee has done and commend them on their hard work over the years. Brian Bennion states that the health department has an air quality improvement plan that will continue.

Director's Report-Brian Bennion

Brian Bennion invites board members to attend SafeKids Day on Saturday, April 29th at the Newgate Mall. This is in coordination with YMCA Healthy Kids Day. Morgan County Schools has approved SHARP surveys to be given at Morgan County schools that will help the community

Information Only

receive health data from students. The NUHOPE Task Force, a coalition led by a community group which includes health department staff, received national recognition by receiving the 'Program of Excellence' award for their efforts in suicide prevention.

Chairman's Report-Ken Johnson

Information Only

Ken Johnson encourages board member to attend SafeKids Day. There is a discussion on where it is held and how many people attend the event. The 2017 NALBOH Annual Conference is in Cleveland, OH in August. Keynote speakers include Gary Edwards, Executive Director at Salt Lake County Health Department and Mikelle Moore, Vice President of Community Benefits at Intermountain Healthcare in Salt Lake City. **Neil Garner** says McKay-Dee is now a milk donor bank and asks if a presentation could be given at a future board meeting. **Tina Kelley** asks board members to let her know of any topics they would like to cover at the UALBOH Conference. It will be held in September at Daniel's Summit Lodge. **James Ebert** expresses his appreciation to health department staff for their efforts to spread awareness and education on youth suicide prevention.

Public comment

There are no comments.

The meeting adjourns at 5:03 p.m. The next meeting is scheduled for June 26, 2017 at 4:00 p.m.

Board of Health Annual Meeting/Training

The Annual meeting consists of a presentation on the 2016 Annual Report by Brian Bennion, information on the budget and fund balance by Kay Larrison, and the Open Meetings Act by Chris Crockett.